Lean, mean sewing machine….

Let me introduce you to Beryl, my first ever sewing machine!

Beryls settles into her new home (and can’t wait to make some nicer office curtains!)

My very generous Mama and Papa helped me get her, originally for Christmas, but in true lady style she was a little late. She arrived in Margate in mid February from the rather efficient and well-priced Cooper sewing machine company.

Following my recent flurry of craftivity in knit and crochet land, it was inevitable I’d attempt some home furnishings. After Mama’s expert help and guidance at Christmas to make my own bag (material and design free with Cath Kidston’s Sew book)….

First ever sewing machine project, from Cath Kidston’s Sew book

… I was ready to brave needle and thread by myself, and I don’t think I did too badly. Here’s Beryl’s first foray into craftivity with Bee…

Setting up Beryl and first straight stitched line!

First project – cusion cover. Didn’t plan to put two florals together, but wanted to practice using two fabrics. I don’t think it looks too bad.

Reverse side of first cushion cover finished

Complete with floral buttons bought in a great sewing shop in Herne Bay, the finished cushion. The creases gives away that it’s already well used

Beryl’s second project – heart shaped pin cushion for my sewing machine projects

Heart shape ready for stitching

Finished heart shape pin cushion – need to work on more even shaping but cunningly disguised with bow and button

Ta da!

Now, you may be wondering why I called my sewing machine Beryl. Well, sewing machine craft is a very long tradition, so she deserved a traditional name. And if she’s going to Bee my partner in craft crime, it had to begin with a B.

We’re both now getting ready for replacing those horrid curtains in my office!

If anyone’s looking for a great all round site for craft how-to’s, patterns, advice, blog etc, I recommend the Channel 4 one… www.channel4.com/4homes/how-to/crafts

I couldn’t resist making Beryl feel right at home with these Home Sweet Daffodils (I still need to finish the cross stitch!)

Comment

